Super Bowl History


Since the first Super Bowl in 1967, the Super Bowl has showcased a history of winning streaks by both the AFC & NFC.

Super Bowl: The First Super Bowls

In 1967, the Green Bay Packers made history as the first-ever Super Bowl champion after defeating the Kansas City Chiefs inside Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in California. The following year, fans with Super Bowl tickets witnessed the Green Bay Packers' repeat as Super Bowl winners, this time notching the W over the Oakland Raiders inside Florida's Miami Orange Bowl. In both Super Bowl I and Super Bowl II, Green Bay Packers QB Bart Starr was named MVP.

Super Bowl: AFL & AFC Rule the Game

The AFL New York Jets and Kansas City Chiefs tallied Super Bowl wins in 1969 and 1970, respectively. From 1971-1980, Super Bowl tickets featured the Miami Dolphins and Pittsburgh Steelers (both of the AFC) combining for six Super Bowl titles within the decade. During the 1973 season, fans with Super Bowl tickets witnessed the Miami Dolphins make NFL history as the only team to complete a perfect season, even to this day. The Dallas Cowboys became the only NFC to break the AFC's winning trend, capturing Super Bowl victories in 1972 and 1978.

Super Bowl: NFC Makes a Comeback

After the AFC dominated the 1970s, the NFC bounced back, winning 16 of the next 20 Super Bowl games between the early '80s and late '90s. From 1984 through 1996, Super Bowl tickets featured the NFC reeling off 13 consecutive Super Bowl wins. Fans with Super Bowl tickets enjoyed the dominance of Joe Montana and the San Francisco 49ers, the most successful NFL franchise of the '80s with four Super Bowl victories. Super Bowl tickets also featured wins by the 1985 Chicago Bears, and two Super Bowl wins apiece for the Washington Redskins and Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders.

To kick off the 1990s, the New York Giants and Washington Redskins were crowned as Super Bowl winners. It wasn't until 1993 that the Dallas Cowboys triplets - Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, and Michael Irvin - helped catapult the Cowboys to Super Bowl titles in 1993, 1994, and 1996. With Super Bowl tickets in 1995, fans saw the San Francisco 49ers make history by winning their fifth Super Bowl championship. After the 1996 NFL season, fans with Super Bowl tickets watched QB Brett Favre and the Green Bay Packers emerge as Super Bowl winners in 1997.

Super Bowl: AFC Back in Power

The Denver Broncos - led by QB Jon Elway - powered the AFC's surge back to Super Bowl prominence starting in 1998 to snap the NFC's 13-game winning streak. The AFC would go on to win eight of the next 10 Super Bowl match ups, crowning the AFC's Baltimore Ravens (2001), the dynasty-forging New England Patriots (2002, 2004, 2005), Pittsburgh Steelers (2006), and Indianapolis Colts (2007) as champions. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers and last season's New York Giants were the only two teams to bring home Super Bowl titles back to the NFC.

Super Bowl: 2009 Season

Super Bowl 43 will kick off on Sunday, February 1, 2009, inside Tampa, Florida's Raymond James Stadium, and already Super Bowl tickets are in high demand. The last time the Super Bowl was held inside Raymond James Stadium, fans with Super Bowl tickets watched the AFC Baltimore Ravens walk away with an easy 34-7 win over the New York Giants. While the reigning champion New York Giants are picked as a favorite to win it all, the Super Bowl Championship is up for grabs as there is no clear-cut winner in 2009. Find out which conference will hoist the Vince Lombardi Trophy when you order Super Bowl tickets from!

Super Bowl: List of Past Winners

Since the first Super Bowl game in 1967, Super Bowl tickets have featured a long and varied list of Super Bowl winners; the Dallas Cowboys, Pittsburgh Steelers, and San Francisco 49ers leading the way with five Super Bowl titles apiece. Currently, the NFC has captured 20 Super Bowl wins compared to the AFC's 18, while the NFL and AFL each won a couple of World Championships.

2008 - New York Giants 17 v. New England Patriots 14

2007 - Indianapolis Colts 29 v. Chicago Bears 17

2006 - Pittsburgh Steelers 21 v. Seattle Seahawks 10

2005 - New England Patriots 24 v. Philadelphia Eagles 21

2004 - New England Patriots 32 v. Carolina Panthers 29

2003 - Tampa Bay Buccaneers 48 v. Oakland Raiders 21

2002 - New England Patriots 20 v. St. Louis Rams 17

2001 - Baltimore Ravens 34 v. New York Giants 7

2000 - St. Louis Rams 23 v. Tennessee Titans 16

1999 - Denver Broncos 34 v. Atlanta Falcons 19

1998 - Denver Broncos 31 v. Green Bay Packers 24

1997 - Green Bay Packers 35 v. New England Patriots 21

1996 - Dallas Cowboys 27 v. Pittsburgh Steelers 17

1995 - San Francisco 49ers 49 v. San Diego Chargers 26

1994 - Dallas Cowboys 30 v. Buffalo Bills 13

1993 - Dallas Cowboys 52 v. Buffalo Bills 17

1992 - Washington Redskins 37 v. Buffalo Bills 24

1991 - New York Giants 20 v. Buffalo Bills 19

1990 - San Francisco 49ers 55 v. Denver Broncos 10

1989 - San Francisco 49ers 20 v. Cincinnati Bengals 16

1988 - Washington Redskins 42 v. Denver Broncos 10

1987 - New York Giants 39 v. Denver Broncos 20

1986 - Chicago Bears 46 v. New England Patriots 10

1985 - San Francisco 49ers 38 v. Miami Dolphins 16

1984 - Los Angeles Raiders 38 v. Washington Redskins 9

1983 - Washington Redskins 27 v. Miami Dolphins 17

1982 - San Francisco 49ers 26 v. Cincinnati Bengals 21

1981 - Oakland Raiders 27 v. Philadelphia Eagles 10

1980 - Pittsburgh Steelers 31 v. Los Angeles Rams 19

1979 - Pittsburgh Steelers 35 v. Dallas Cowboys 31

1978 - Dallas Cowboys 27 v. Denver Broncos 10

1977 - Oakland Raiders 32 v. Minnesota Vikings 14

1976 - Pittsburgh Steelers 21 v. Dallas Cowboys 17

1975 - Pittsburgh Steelers 16 v. Minnesota Vikings 6

1974 - Miami Dolphins 24 v. Minnesota Vikings 7

1973 - Miami Dolphins 14 v. Washington Redskins 7

1972 - Dallas Cowboys 24 v. Miami Dolphins 3

1971 - Baltimore Colts 16 v. Dallas Cowboys 13

1970 - Kansas City Chiefs 23 v. Minnesota Vikings 7

1969 - New York Jets 16 v. Baltimore Colts 7

1968 - Green Bay Packers 33 v. Oakland Raiders 14

1967 - Green Bay Packers 35 v. Kansas City Chiefs 10

Return to Home Page Browse Sports Tickets Browse Concert Tickets Browse Theatre Tickets Browse Las Vegas Tickets
{ * removed in ticket 106521 *}